The remains of the old hotels inside Schermerhorn Row, which includes a corridor of rooms from the Rogers’ Hotel and Dining Saloon and the remains of the Fulton Ferry Hotel’s laundry room and shaft, are taken care of by the Museum’s collection management team.
The Rogers’ Hotel and Dining Saloon opened in 1850 at 4 Fulton Street, as a typical nineteenth-century waterfront refectory and saloon. In 1864, management was passed to Abraham Sweet, who ran (with additional generations of his family) Sweet’s hotel and restaurant until 1992, expanding it to 6 Fulton Street.
The Fulton Ferry Hotel at 92-93 South Street was named so in 1875 when Friederick and Henry Lemmermann bought the Mackinley Hotel that occupied the same address prior. The hotel stayed in business until ca. 1935.
These rooms and spaces are part of ongoing exhibitions and tours, and they are actively used during education programs. Check one of our recent virtual tours of the space, and learn more about ongoing housekeeping of the spaces on our blog!
Check out our bi-monthly blog where our collections team takes you behind the scenes and shares some of their work, inspiration, and more while highlighting hidden gems of history, the seaport, and our collection